A Message From Our Minister

 . .Weekly Newsletter. .

December 14, 2014

Catching up with Cam…

The Peace of our LORD Jesus Christ be with you, 

       First Presbyterian Church is the place where love makes the difference

       First Presbyterian Church is the place where people choose to make a difference

During my time here, I have been so impressed and inspired by the outpourings of love and support within this congregation.  Our congregation is full of faithful servants who choose to make a difference in their community and in the lives of our neighbors.  In our midst are effective and talented people working and giving in the name of Jesus Christ – the one who calls us to remember our covenant to God and to one another. 

In the past few weeks, we have seen firsthand the evidence of this difference – making love.  Through a special offering collected during worship, we were able to give more than $5,000 dollars to the Thornwell Home for Children in Clinton, SC.  On Saturday December 6, Operation Christmas lifted off and we were able to extend a measure of God’s abundance to neighbors in our community.  Through weeks of planning, shopping, and working, we made Christmas brighter for over 120 people. 

These are certainly examples of love making a difference in our community, but the opportunities just keep on coming.  At our December 21stworship, we will have the chance to give to the Christmas Joy Offering.  This offering seeks to serve those who have served as it supports retired Presbyterian Church workers and racial ethnic schools and colleges.  During worship services on Christmas Eve, we will also continue our tradition of collecting a special offering to support Habitat for Humanity.  This organization, which describes itself as a hand up and not a hand out, remains one of our partners in ministry as we see what 2015 has in store for us. 

Pray about these upcoming opportunities to give.  We give thanks for these specific chances to help our neighbors in need, but we also remember that the outreach and ministry of FPC continues everyday.  Our cup overflows and so we support these special offerings in addition to serving faithfully and giving joyfully to FPC’s ongoing ministries.  Remember, that if you want your giving to be counted for the 2014 year, it needs to be received by December 31.  Thanks for all that you do and choosing to make a difference with us at FPC as we serve alongside one another in ministry.   


Grace and Peace,                                                      


       Associate Pastor, Youth and Missions


     Dr. John C. Brearley

       Senior Minister



  Dr. John C. BrearleyDr.